what are your service intervals for candy ?

bbeckl

hey everyone , apologies in advance if this topic has been beaten into the ground . i did a search and couldnt get what i was looking for . i am very new to bulk vending , and was just curious how long everyone goes between services ? i know it will vary greatly between vendors , set ups and locations , but as a rule of thumb ,do you have a set time frame ? when i started i did 3 weeks ,and quickly realized a mediocre , or slow location does not need that . then i moved to the 4 week plan . still ,to early . i am of course trying to limit dirving time ( at $4+ a gallon who isnt right ? ) , and am considering going to 8 weeks . my concerns are i dont want a location to feel like ive abandoned them , or have a coin mech break and free spinning for 8 weeks ( had this happen at a auto repair , those guys sure like mike and ikes when they are free!!!) . Any input is greatly appreciated .

No more than every 6 weeks for a few reasons:

My 3 busiest locations may run out of a product if I wait longer.

I can keep lower levels in the machines that are not busy.

Machines can get dirty or sometimes something gets spilled on them.

A problem, like lock mechs becoming loose or jammed.

It shows the locations that I care about the upkeep.

Shepard and JJ,

Define 'anything slower' than 'X' weeks...

Slower than what? 50% of the machine volume emptying? $X.XX a month in gross?

Just what I've found works for me. Anything mor than 12 weeks you end up throwing a lot of product away. Unless you have gumballs or runts or something with a tremendous shelf life, you can't let most candies go too long. Plus, yes, if you're only making $10 in three months, probably better to find another location.