I would like to start a thread for discussion of HLF automated espresso machines. If you run HLF's (4600-G2, 5500, other models) lets share things we've learned to help them operate more smoothly, technical insights, trouble shooting and tweaks made.

I have been running two 4600-G2's for just under 2 months now. My main issues have been issues with beans being too oily and the powder bin capacity being undersized. I just added an extended bin kit to one machine, which adds only about 40% more milk.

If anyone here has a suggestion for another forum (maybe more OCS espresso oriented) that may be more useful to (and seen ;o) by auto espresso machine users, I'd appreciate if you could let me know. I have a lot of experience with Colibri LX's and Saeco DA 7P's over the years, but these are a hole 'nother animal.

Thanks in advance for anyone willing to share their knowledge of these machines here. I am willing to share a lot that I have learned in my ramping these HLF's up in a very high volume account, if their is any interest here.

Thank you,

Dave

PS. I have been in OCS and vending since 1984. Recently, I have changed to OCS only.

I know nothing about HLFs, but should you need Cafection or VKI help, I can offer it.

I would love to know about whatever higher end (than Colibri which is good for it's niche) equipment anyone is using in OCS accounts. Please say what brand and mode(s) you use. Info about the company and or distibutor's  customer/technical  support, parts availabilty, equipment reliability, design plus and minus's and overall in the field experience would be hugely helpful for all operating in this niche market. I have not (yet) found much info like this. It seems that if equipment is not sold and supported by large U.S. disrtibutors (like Vendor's Exchange does a great job supporting Colibri's), that we are rolling the dice on buying/using equipment made in Italy or other Euro countries with little to no tech or parts support.