What do I do with expired products?

ctimvend

Hello to all.  I'm new to vending.  I have 5 machines in 4 locations.  Any how I set them all up in August and May this year.  I went on vacation had my brother service them while I was away for 3 months and I came back and much of the products that I had placed in a 3 of the machines is now expired.  Needless to say I overstocked them.  And now have a bunch of chips and stuff on hand.  I have school age children who'd love to have me lace there lunch box with it.  I just need to know is there a way to write it off and or can it be returned to Costco?

You cannot return any expired products and there is no write off of the product as you have already expensed the items.  Stales are a cost of doing business and you have to "eat it" when items expire.  The only thing I would caution you about is to not leave stales at the location for them to consume as this will only cannibalize your sales.  You must remove the stales and either donate them, eat them or throw them out. 

Hello to all.  I'm new to vending.  I have 5 machines in 4 locations.  Any how I set them all up in August and May this year.  I went on vacation had my brother service them while I was away for 3 months and I came back and much of the products that I had placed in a 3 of the machines is now expired.  Needless to say I overstocked them.  And now have a bunch of chips and stuff on hand.  I have school age children who'd love to have me lace there lunch box with it.  I just need to know is there a way to write it off and or can it be returned to Costco?

You will continue to have this problem until you can get a couple of more machines out there.  In the meantime, try working with the combo packs found at Sam's.  You'll never eliminate the stales completely,  I have 13 snack machines running and still get about 3% waste factor.  My dog thinks this is just great but then he really couldn't care less about the economics of the situation.