Honor box for work breakroom

incrediguy

Hello all, I've enjoyed looking through the forums here so far but wasn't able to find any answers to my questions. I work in a hospital on an orthopedic unit with an attached gym with about 70 nursing staff, plus another 20-30 staff including housekeepers and therapists. We had an honor box run by a volunteer using donated startup funds with the profits intended for throwing parties, etc as a perk for the employees. Since it was run by a volunteer who didn't make any money off of it, it seems to have fallen prey to shortages, and no one wants to take the initiative to take responsibility for it and run it for profit. 

While it was going, the snacks sold were K-cups, candy bars, and trail mix types of snacks that seemed pretty popular. However, the person running it never kept track of the numbers and just restocked as money came in, so she didn't know how much she was being shorted, she just knew she wasn't making money. 

Have any of you had experience running a box at your own place of employment? I don't intend to expand beyond this one location, but I do want to provide a service to our staff with enough income to make the inventory runs worth my time. Do you notice any drop in shortage with displaying signs asking for payment, that stealing is stealing, or any other techniques? If I'm shorted here I won't just be pulling the location, I need to come up with a solution to maintain profitability. 

Thanks for any help or comments. 

I get the impression that you haven't serviced honor boxes before.

I wouldn't put an honor box at my place of employment for the SAME REASON customers ask YOU (the honor box service guy) to REMOVE your box when you notify them that there are shortages -- you do not want the fact that someone is STEALING have an affect on your relationship with your fellow employees.