Taking The Plunge!

CJvend

Hello everyone, just joined this group and making my first post. Just to introduce myself, my name is Mike, I own and operate a Photo Booth rental service here in New Jersey, so I have some experience in the service industry, looking to add this business to supplement my income. 

I have been reading through a lot of the threads and pinned posts and learning a ton. I have been researching the vending business for about a month or so and looking to get in to the business, while initially wanting to start with snack and soda machines, I have decided that starting with about 10 bulk triple head machines and placing may be the best way to "get my feet wet". 

I am posting here for a little help from the experienced guys, just so I am not getting in over my head and missing major red flags. I found a guy on the local Craigslist selling a bunch of Vendstar 3000(he has them labeled as vendstar 2000 but I don't think that is correct). He claims them to be functional and in good cosmetic condition. He states they only need keys, which he has the codes for. I found keys on eBay for about $13 a piece.

I have read the good and bad on the Vendstar machines and decided a good starting point even though their flaws and plastic build. I have negotiated a price of $500 for 10 of them. 

My plan is to buy them, get the keys and then have them located as soon as possible. I am planning on using a locator just to get them out there quickly, and if all goes well, buy a few more from the guy(he states he currently has about 40 on hand). 

I am just looking for any tips from the pros here on what to look out for. When I go see these machines, what should I be checking for when I inspect them? Any tips or advice is appreciated. Thank you!

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply