Is this a good deal?

coastalcaregroup

Good Morning,

I registered for the forum this morning, but have been reading different posts over the last 3 days- since I found it. I am brand new to this business, and am considering purchasing an established route, and am wondering if it is a good deal or not. The info I have per the owner:

Price: $8,500

Yearly gross: $11,000

Yearly net: $8,500

200 total machines

150 are in the field = 2 sports blaster bouncy ball machines, 22 8 canister U-turn Candy (3 years old), 126 gumball

(most of the gumball machines are single head, some double head, and a couple triple head machines) His wife has been running the route, doesn't know the manufacturer of the gumball machines. Said they are "cast iron base, red metal body plexi bowls with chrome coin mechs".

50 in storage = 39 gumball machines, some are parts machines, some are ready to be placed. 11 8 canister U-turn candy machines.

Condition: Did not say.

Time: 30 hours every 10 weeks

Training and route visits would be an additional $1,500 ($10,000 purchase price instead of $8,500). Otherwise he will hand me the route cards and keys. Since I'm brand new to the business should I pay the extra? I have a friend up north in the business and he said just get the route cards and go. My goal is to make this my full time job right away. Bulk as well as soda/snack machines - one or the other or a combination, either by buying small routes up or buying machines and placing them myself. So back to my original question, is this a good/neutral/bad buy?

He also said there are no contracts or agreements? Is this a problem, should I ask people to sign something? If so where can I find an agreement?

Anyone that has .02 I would be happy to hear it. Thanks for your time!