If you had to do it over again....

jb5580

I wanted to start a new discussion centered on the ins and outs of getting started in the bulk vending business. I am brand new at this and have not even placed a machine yet. I have my LLC started and insurance as well as charity coming(NCCS). I am excited to get started and every part of me says rush out and buy 20 machines and place them. However, I am not going to do that. I think I wiIl buy 2 machines and use a locator to place them, wait a month or 2 and buy 1 or 2 more and place them, so on and so forth until I build up a nice route. I want to do this right and that is were you guys and gals come in. Could you let us newbies know how you would do it if you had to do it over again to avoid mistakes you may have in countered along the way? What machines, what products, what locator's, singles, doubles, triples, etc. This would make for a nice topic for us green vendors. Thanks in advance, Jim 

I would have not done it at all..instead I would have put the $3500 i have put

into this, into a retirement account, and let it grow, if i am to piss money

away like I have been doing on machines/candy/gas/locator, then I would rather

piss it away into a retirement account....

JB, first, welcome to the forum. Second, you are doing this the correct way - taking your time. Don't rush into things. Read what is on this forum and *learn*.

If you do that, you will most likely be successful.

To answer your question, yes. Although I would have done things differently. The two "big" mistakes I made were buying a full line route (it make $, but was too difficult to service) and buying new machines. My first 17 machines I bought for $145/ea. Now I spend about $20 on used Vendstars.

If you read the posts here you'll see the mistakes we've all made and you can avoid them.

Resist the urge to "rush out and buy 20 machines". You'll be happier and richer if you a) read, B) follow the advice of people here.

Good luck!

Kevin