The Charity vs Commission Game

Jax Snacks

I have been trying to get into a restaurant for 3 months. I made a number of sales calls with the owner and left professional vending fliers with him. I even had a reference from another hair salon location in the same plaza. The hair salon owner talked to the restaurant owner as a favor to me. I was told that the restaurant owner said, “Yes”. It was pitched as a commission rack. This place has great traffic and is open late at night and in a great area.

Well the restaurant owner kept putting me off and said, “Come back another day”. He did this about 3 times. Got a bit frustrated since a “Yes” was given. Why would he tell the hair salon owner one thing and me another? I obviously did not connect with this restaurant owner and there was a language barrier as well. As a former software tech, I know that my sales skills are not a strong as others.

A few weeks ago I was in that plaza and guess what? There was now a charity machine there! Now my head is really spinning. So I decided to pass this on to my locator as a lead. This time it was pitched as a double-head charity machine. It was approved by the restaurant owner that same day! The machine was placed 3 days later. Go figure.

I thought I was doing the “right” thing with a commission setup. But in this case it was the charity that got me in. This just reinforces (for me) my hybrid model in doing both commission and charity. The trick is knowing which technique to use and when/if to flip them at the appropriate time. Sometimes only the commission will get you in and other times only the charity will get you in. I guessed wrong on the first try in this case.

So at this point I neither love nor hate either approach. I just use them both and recognize the pros and cons. And accept the fact that I may guess wrong sometimes.

This just reinforces (for me) my hybrid model in doing both commission and charity.