who's currently (or formerly) in the computer industry?

dogcow

I've been in IT for 20 years. I've worked for HP, EDS, IBM and others. My degree is in Business Information Systems. It all started for me when I got my first job at 3Com because of my experience from being a BBS Sysop.

Been working in I.T. for about 14 years. For the past few years, my focus has been in I.T. Security. Interesting post dogcow. I wonder if most are bored with their positions and just using it as a stepping stone until their vending business forces them to quit, or if everyone plans to remain in I.T. forever.

I've been in IT for 20 years. I've worked for HP, EDS, IBM and others. My degree is in Business Information Systems. It all started for me when I got my first job at 3Com because of my experience from being a BBS Sysop.

lol i was a sysop too

spent over twenty years installing fiber optics and broadband in almost every region in this great country of ours and in every kind of industrial plant, factory, and type of building you can think of. I have hung from poles and been in tunnels. I do not know anything about programming but if you guys want those fancy paperweights you call information systems to connect to something else outside your house or office Im your guy

Just poking a little fun at ya

lol i was a sysop too

What did you run? I ran WWIV, TBBS, TELEGARD and MYSTIC, between 1991-2005. I held node 4801 for WWIVnet, and Fidonet 1:143/324.

I bought the WWIV source code, which was written in C. That is where I first got in to coding. I bought a C programming book, and even took C programming class at the local jr college. That got me my first IT job at 3Com, being a sysop to their CardBoard BBS, running an 8-line TBBS BBS. I would put the latest network drivers online, and format the HOW-TO texts into a searchable database.

You can look me up on www.textfiles.com/408/ and www.textfile.com/916/.