Saeco SG200, boiler leaking.. Help!

Local Grinds

Hi!!

I am a college student that purchased 2 used Saeco SG 200 machines to place at the school in order to help subsidize my education. I had the first one placed, it was working well however I noticed a small drip coming from the bottom side of the boiler, the leak went away then one day came back with vengeance. I switched the top part of the machine out for the top of my other machine (first time I've used this one). I turned it on for the first time and it has the same drip coming from the bottom of the boiler!! 

I cannot see exactly where the water is leaking from but it gathers on the metal plate below the boiler and drips from there. The drip only occurs while the machine is in use and not while sitting dormant. 

I live in a remote northern community in northern BC, Canada and do not have access to all the 'city' amenities. Any suggestions are welcomed and certainly appreciated!! 

Thank you!!

Cheri

saeco 2.jpg

I was going to ask if you live in a northern area. The biggest problem in those areas is winter. People get into the biz op, can't make money, pull machines then have no where to store them. They end up in garages and the boiler freezes. The machines are then sold unknowing/knowing boilers are cracked/seals gone.

Before storage, you must cycle the machine via maintenance menu settings and drain boiler. This purges most water out of boiler/system ready for storage.

Other thing is to make sure seals are good. You may just have to replace seals in the boiler as long as the boiler is not cracked.

Dry the area around the boiler and see if water appears setting and then run through cycle. There are other areas leaks happen such as brew group seal that allows water to bypass during the downward 150 psi compression of grind cycle.

Hope that helps.

Peace,

greatdane