newbie to vending

Starcat

Hello,  I am BRAND new to vending, i am self employed and work from home, and i have some money i can dump into this so i figured i'd give it a shot.

I started out purchasing 2 vendstar 3000 machines on ebay from ebay for 199.

i know nothing about these machines, they haven't even arrived yet, due tomorrow, but i plan on taking them apart and really looking them over.

I also plan on using Rodney from vending services to help place most of my machines.

My questions are as follows:

1: are vendstar 3000s decent machines?  i have read pros and cons.. some people say they are junk because they are plastic, and the mechanisms fail often? opposite that, they say never get metal machines, too heavy, too expensive and you dont want metal or rust near the candy, and it heats up too much. so im not really sure what to do here.

2: Pieces per vend - i see a lot of people talking about 10 pieces or 18 pieces etc, how can you control how many pieces come out? i mean i know there is a wheel with numbers on it, but how can you make sure exactly 10 come out? 

3: Gumballs, i see the 850 ct gumballs do pretty well, but is there a special mechanism to get just one gumball? how can i make sure only one comes out? or is there a special "gumball" wheel i need to purchase thats round? 

4: Best place to buy?  So far i've only seen 2 contenders for good prices per pound,  Amazon has most of them, and sams club has 1 or 2, but the numbers i've seen are kind of amazing,  

0508a22aae29a3c9aae7a4226965aefb-cogscre

Where on earth is anyone shopping to get these prices? the most i've seen is 40 pound bags of runts or something like this. but i have not seen any skittles for anywhere near the price of 2.72 per pound.

5: realistically, how much can i expect to make per month Per triple head machine? honestly i am only expecting like 5 dollars a month, but i know this is subject to location and trafic and tastes of people who come in.