From NJ with semi pro experience

theoruxben

Hello, My name is Theo, and I have been a vending route driver for over 5 years. I feel like during my stay at the company I work for, I have seen the ups and downs of vending. And In no way do I mean this in an arrogant way, but I feel like I would be like a great free agent on the open market with what I have done. haha

When i started, My route had about 50 accounts per week(60 or so overall), some dog accounts, some really good ones. At the time,we dexed all the machines, picked from a nice size 16ft truck with side beverage doors, the whole bit. As times got hard, things changed, and I won't discuss the details. But I went from dexing and picking from the truck when I first started, to now pre kitting every account through my own forecasting(no computer help) and I do the route in a van thats not much bigger then a PT Cruiser!?(this drives me nuts by the way). Not to mention(and I say this with anger actually), they have me doing almost 100 accounts weekly(120 something overall). and!! most are soda and snack. I swear I am not meaning to sound like a disgruntled employee.

Anyway, I feel like I know enough to start my own thing. Actually, I have another business venture on the side(non vending related), that has not panned out as planned and I might sell. If i sell that, I am looking at 8-10 grand, which would be my start up. Is that enough to get something going?

I'd want to do strictly soda at first, keep it basic. I talked to some locating company a while back that claimed they'd set up 8 machines, looking at a $400.00 weekly net for $7,500. I am looking for something thats gonna give me around $400.00 net as a start(side income), but with a reasonable deal. I don't want to be forced to buy 6 cases of Fanta pineapple because I have to hit that number. any advice is helpful. also, If I am shooting too high up front, let me know. Thanks

Welcome Theo!