The beginning of an Honor Box Route

loach33

I've been doing full line vending for about 16 years. I've dabbled in bulk vending for a year or so with 5 locations. After reading a lot about honor boxes I was intrigued but just didn't have the time to go out and get locations. I have a full time job, two young kids and the rest of the vending business.

But, in June a friend of mine asked if I knew of any part time work. I mentioned that I needed someone to help me out with the vending when I go on vacation in August. From there, we talk about Honor Boxes and my want to do that. I come to find out that he absolutely loves cold calling. He worked for a home improvement company years ago and loved going to door to door selling windows and siding. He was the top salesman in a rather large regional company.

Well, well, well. It could be meant to be. So, I ordered the wood grain boxes from Dennis and filled five of them. My friend is the salesman and I'm going to fill the boxes and keep him supplied. The pictures attached show the first five boxes ready to go. Today is the day when we start pounding the pavement. He is excited to get out there.

So, I thought I'd start this thread to keep you updated on an average person just trying this business out to see if it can work. I will say that the city I live in is notoriously cheap as far as cost of living. I have everything priced at $1. Honestly I look at the box and think it may be a tall order to sell some of these for $1. But, I figure there is no alternative. Multiple prices or something like 75 cents just won't work. It's $1 or nothing. It either works or it doesn't.

We're going to place these five and then give it two weeks. If it goes well with those, we'll place a few more and so on.