Bill Acceptor

temp04

Hi, I am a newbie to the business. I bought a route a few months back. I have a machine that will take the bill but will not give credit to customer. this doesn't happen all the time but it happened enough to have the location getting upset. I am assuming my problem is the bill acceptor. But I do not see any error code. is there a simple way to fix it? How do I fix this problem? Thanks

Hi, I am a newbie to the business. I bought a route a few months back. I have a machine that will take the bill but will not give credit to customer. this doesn't happen all the time but it happened enough to have the location getting upset. I am assuming my problem is the bill acceptor. But I do not see any error code. is there a simple way to fix it? How do I fix this problem? Thanks

What brand Bill Acceptor are you using on the machine?

You might try cleaning the sensors. On the coinco's I have, there is a release button on the bottom that allows the sensor unit to slide out. A lot of my blue collar accounts are very dusty and because the sensors face upward I clean them each time I do service.

If that doesn't work, you should pick up a refurbished validator. You can save about $50 if you trade in your existing one but this means your machine will only work with coins in the interim.

I always carry spare validators and coin mechs. I have gradually standardized my system to where I only need a couple of different models and having spares saves a lot of trips.

What model of machine is the validator in? That problem does not always indicate a problem with the validator. You could have a bad or broken harness, a bad connection, or a bad control board. On validators that new, I RARELY see the validator not "giving" credit. Assuming the validator is bad is usually a common mistake made by many vendors. The control board or harness is usually the problem.