I'm in negotiation...need advise

premiervending

I am talking to a guy that is selling off part of his route.  He has 90 location, but said about 1/3 needs to be relocated because of performance.  He bought the route awhile back and does not have very good records.  He believes the machines are xyz, which is ok with me.  I wish the route was more organized and had better records, but I am still very interested in buying the route.  This is what I have:

90 locations;  all triple head xyz machines

income to be between 1200-1500 per month( I'm ok with 15 per mo avg=1350 per mo)

Asking 18,000

WE have negotiated down to 13,500

Next step before I buy is to go out on the route with him and see first hand how things are going.  We are doing that starting tomorrow.

What do you guys think before I make the plung.  I currently have just a few machines, but would like to ramp up my income.

Any advise?

I am no expert as I am just starting, but I have read several things the past 4-5 weeks and these are the question I would be asking.

Are you going to be doing a one days route with this person?  If so before you get to the first location ask him if a certain route does better than another?  My reasoning would be if the first few machines don't do so well he could come back to say "well this is my lower end route, my other routes do much better"  How would you know but ask up front before entering any of his machines.

Also ask him when the last time he service this route?  My reason for asking is to see if he is out of anything, if machines are broken or very dirty.  I am a very paticular person when it come to details and I would hate to see someone pay that price if it really is not what you expected to see.  Don't get me wrong everything could be great and worth the price.  Not having records of his sales you may want to ask a little less at first and then go up if he is not going to come down at all.