Motors on 440

I've had a few of my motors slipping lately. The break arm and test arm are both falling in the valley of the cam and it's vending 0, 1, then 2 cans at a time. Automatic vend out of that row when you put in a credit till I adjusted it. What's the fix to this?

This machine was sitting at a shop with no use for a while. But I've been running it well for a few years. Now they're slipping.

Any cleaning, service necessary?

Don't use any WD40 on the motors as that will attract more dirt and eventually make the problem worse.  You probably have a sticky brake causing the motor to coast past where it should be stopping.  You will notice a brass colored bracket that hugs the motor winding.  This is the brake actuator that pulls against the motor when it energizes, releasing the brake so the motor can turn.  When the motor power is off the brake is supposed to quickly release, causing the accompanying nylon hook to engage the armature and stop the motor.  If the pivot point of the brass brake is gummed up, it won't lock the motor fast enough to prevent coasting. Spray some glass cleaner on the pivot point and then work the heck out of the brake until it is loose enough that it seems to rattle.  Now the brake should work properly.  If it doesn't then you need to replace the motor. 

I have good used motors in stock if you end up needing one.

That's a myth. WD works fine. It is not a real lubricant. This is were we will disagree. Glass cleaner is an alcohol base water. Water should not be used near 110volt motors.

I agree about the pivot. We both know that the correct way is to remove the bushings and clean, lube and reassemble. But, it's not what was asked....

Do not use any sprays.

Anything you are likely to find will leave a residue.

If you do find something labeled as “NO Residue” they are bad for plastics regardless of what the label says.