Couple of questions for a complete newbie

guile

Are there any people out there with a strictly "Triple Head" business? I guess where I'm going with this is why would a lot of people use 1 and 2 head machines when a nice triple would do?

Next question. I know this is not an easy question to answer but approx. how many machines/locations would it take to (realistically) generate $100k per year?

Thanks in advance.

g

Guile, first off welcome to Vendiscuss. 

About 80% of my machines are triples, the others are just gumball machines.  The thing with triples is that there is a higher chance of spoilage.  If you have a single head in a dud location and the product goes bad you're out just that product, but in a triple you're out 3 products.  You need higher traffic locations for triples to do well.

The average a month is about $7 a head so a triple should average $21 a month to be considered in a good location.  Having said this it would take about  397 locations doing "average" to gross $100,000 a year ($100,000/21= 4,762.  4,762/12 months= 397).  Now product costs are about 25% so you really looking at $75,000 net. 

Hope this helps.

I'll add to this also. I currently have only triples - 27 of them. However, I am about to buy some single heads that can be converted into doubles if necessary.

Why? Well, my plan is to place triples initially. If all heads do well, great. If I see it is a place that can't support a triple I'll put a single or double there.

Ideally I will have all triples, though.

On this board you'll get wildly different answers as to single vs. double vs. triple. I believe the "real" answer is whatever works for *you* in *your* location is the best :)

As for 100K, again, people make all sorts of profit on each machine. I am like Gabe in that if I can pull $20+ from each of my triple I will be happy, but there are others on this board who do much better than that. The key is the location.

Good luck!

Kevin