New To Vending (modifications)

I am located in MA, I love the combination of mechanics and electronics in vending machines and it is unfortunate that the arcade age has come and gone so I do PC repair I am 24. I wanted to start vending on the side of computer work after realize how easy it is to do but I realize there is a crowded market that can get viscous? I work in a factory too that has a few shifts and two vending machines when I realized the $ here, its just an old man that owns the machines he makes a good profit for one location. I then found how cheap they are on craigslist as far as I know all I need is to register with state and federal then get a vending licence?