I'm a newbie to vending! :D

iamartsy

Hey EVERYONE!

I just bought a LANCE 2038 machine and all the spools work. Finally figured out the bulb, still need a new lock and the coin acceptor work. The HUGE problem I have right now is that the bill validator doesn't work :( The Maka nb-14c makes a sound, but doesn't respond at all when I stick a bill in. I have cleaned every inch and have checked every wire but nothing. I also realized that the price on this 25 slot machine will only go up to $6.35 which is set by the machine itself. I was wondering if anyone can confirm that if i get a mag50b coinco validator is I can replace it and get a harness that will work. Also, is there anyway to make this machine set the price higher then $6.35?!? Help will be oh so greatly appreciated!!! :D I'm excited to see a community of people who love vending machines and restoring them.

The picture below looks just like the machine I have.

post-8554-0-95193000-1395977131_thumb.jpg

Welcome to the forum iamartsy!

You have purchased one of the oldest machines around which not many parts are made for any longer.  That USI 25H machine was old when I got into vending in 1985 so you should consider a different machine of much later vintage and capabilities for your use, especially at the prices you say you want to sell items at.  You mention that the Maka validator in it doesn't work, but your photo shows no bill validator.  I ran some of these machines in the late 80's but I never ran validators in them and I don't believe there is any room on the door to mount one.  This machine runs a 4 price coin mech which never originally had a validator harness as there were virtually no validators installed at that time as the technology was still in its infancy.   There were kits produced later to add a validator harness to some of the Mars 4 price mechs, I doubt any of those harnesses are around any longer as the coin mechs they were used on are obsolete.