home built vending

vetvend

I am a newbie! and have searched for and read  the posts warning others not to try to build their own vending machines.....I understand and agree.  However, I have not found one that meets my personal needs and was hoping that I  could re-purpose the best/most appropriate/ economical group of components (converter, rectifier and filter, VMC, MDB, Relay driver, wiring harness, keypad and display) with credit card reader only payment system (no cash or coins) that I could string together to send a 24VDC current (up to 60 seconds) to one of up to 64 24VDC electronic fail secure locks (and maybe an LED light above the lock that is triggered).  After that lock was opened once, it would display "sold out" and not activate the lock again until item was refilled and reset.

My thought was that I could buy a used 64 item spiral snack machine but instead of activating servos or motors it would just send a timed current to the lock (and light).  Rather than ordering and programming an Arduino kit, I was hoping that I could adapt current commercially available items that would simplify trouble shooting, repair and replacement and increase durability.  Any suggestions? Is there a decent, simple snack machine out there that would be good to harvest components from?  Is this feasible or a colossal waste of time?....Since retiring from the Army I have the time.

LOL That sounds like a D/N 5591.... 5 trays 9 selections=45 vends room for 9 more or 54 on board if you add and extra harness and actuators ....  Add a timing circuit that will hold for 60 sec.  Disconnect the drop sensor and there you go 54 vends all sold out. Might be something there.