New to Vending Need Advice

I am just starting out in this business and have a few questions!  If anyone has any input that would be awesome.

1.  First of all I don't know which type of machines to purchase?  I was originally going to purchase combo machines, but heard those aren't as good and don't make as much profit.  I am wondering if I should do just drink machines or what?  Do you think it would be better to place a few drink machines at some places, or one drink and one snack machine at a couple places, or a couple big capacity combos at a few locations?

2. What brand machines do you recommend?  I want something newer because I don't know how to fix very well.  I plan on hiring service if ever needed (trying first though).  I have about $8,000 or so to spend on the machines and I would like to buy more than one.

3.  Do you recommend using a locator?  If so which locator do you recommend?  I have heard there are a lot of scammers here, have you heard of any that are reliable?

4.  Just curious how many vends per day do you receive on each type of machine and where are those machines located?  Is there any place that seems to work "wonders"?

5.  Any books you have read that have helped you out in this business?

6.  I am located in Southeast Wisconsin if that makes any sort of difference.

Thank you very very much in advance!

The first thing I would do would be to buy this book "The truth about vending" and read it.   You can find it on eBay.

I was able to get a copy via electronic download so if you want it today search around.  It helped me immensely and worth the money.

Remember "readers are leaders and leaders are readers."  Good luck!

You are in a great place to get alot of different views on what you should do when you are just starting out.

$8000.00 can get a you a good group of pop and snack machines if you know where to look for the deals.