$1300 to repair compressor for a vending machine?

Spencer

Hey guys,

So apparently the compressor in my schools vending machine is broken and the repair man said it would cost $1300 to repair. I thought this was slightly steep but I have no experience with this stuff. I was wondering if you guys think that's an ok price.

The compressor turns on, i can hear it, but the vending machine never cools.

I'm not competently convinced it broken because the pipe leading out of the compressor gets frosted over. 

Any help would be appreciated. 

Thanks

That may be about right to install a brand new compressor in an AP320 unit on location, if the machine is about hour from the shop.

Please do not confuse compressor with the refrigeration unit, the compressor is only one of the parts that make up the unit.

If you paid for an actual diagnosis you should get more than “It will cost 1300 to fix”. You deserve an explanation of what parts have failed and in what way they are damaged and a breakdown of parts and labor need to complete the repair.

To me that sounds like the, I do not want to do this job pricing.

Will you please tell us the make and model of the machine?

How many refer repairs has this person done for you?

Do they specialize in vending machine repairs?

Walta

If it's your typical Dixie Narco, Royal, or Vendo stack vendor, then $1,300 is way out of the park.  I agree with Walta though.. it sounds like someone who really doesn't even want to fix it.  You can probably buy a new refrigeration unit new and install it yourself for much cheaper... but that's if it's a typical vending machine and nothing like a fancy food machine.

Hey guys,

So apparently the compressor in my schools vending machine is broken and the repair man said it would cost $1300 to repair. I thought this was slightly steep but I have no experience with this stuff. I was wondering if you guys think that's an ok price.