Reasonable amount to pay for route

jt66250

I want to purchase already placed coke and snack machines in my area and I have a parameter in place for what I want to pay. Is an offer where I can recoup my investment in profit within 12-15 months a reasonable amount? What amount do some of the experienced vendors use, as I am just getting started in the business.

You are asking a very vague question here. If you want to buy accounts that will net the purchase price back to you in 12 - 15 months then you'll need to find some very strong accounts (which cost more) or pay a very low price for some accounts (which will have poor sales). You can see that those two scenarios are actually a catch-22 and until you find an account for sale with PROVEN numbers you won't know if the price for it will allow the ROI you're looking for.

In other words, there are no rules and every deal or account has to be judged on its own merits.

There are no sure things in business and that's true in vending as well.

Generally, the answer to your question is no. If you net 33% after all costs, you'd need to pick up an account doing $600/month for $2400/$3000 max for your parameters. Not unheard of but you didn't ask that, you asked for reasonable. Most sellers would be asking around $6-7k for this account and would need to be fairly desperate to take less than $4500. And you'd be pretty lucky to stumble upon that seller before someone else did. Generally speaking, double your numbers is closer to reasonable. But great deals do fall into your lap from time to time.

This is assuming TON of averages which can vary widely as AZ stated. Your mileage may vary.

I want to purchase already placed coke and snack machines in my area and I have a parameter in place for what I want to pay. Is an offer where I can recoup my investment in profit within 12-15 months a reasonable amount? What amount do some of the experienced vendors use, as I am just getting started in the business.