Is it common for small accounts to not have a contract?

Coming from the ATM side of things I'm used to working with 3 and 5 year contracts on locations. I'm new to food and beverage vending but I've noticed that most people selling located equipment rarely have more than a month to month agreement. Thus far I've only looked at locations with a single machine but I've seen grosses from $200-$600 many times operating for years in the same account.

Is this more common when looking at small accounts?

Contracts are a pain and usually aren't bothered with.  They are also only as good as the money you're willing to spend to defend them.  Vending is quite often just a handshake agreement and if you provide good service and maintain your machines most locations aren't interested in looking for another vendor.  When you need to invest a lot of money in equipment for a location is when you want to get a contract to protect your investment and make your money back.

That's actually great to know, coming from ATM's where everything is intensively contract driven it was confusing me to find machines in locations with no real agreement or paperwork. When it comes to adding equipment or multiple machines to a location if the volume ends up being more than anticipated or say you have a further location you wish to go to less. Is it usually just a phone call to the owner saying you want to increase the equipment there?

Yes. Vending is a pretty carefree business where you are meeting a need and most locations are very happy to have machines.  Locations always like upgrades.  You should always be evaluating your bottom 10% of accounts and moving those machines to better locations.  You also want your best machines in your best locations.

90% of my accounts have no contracts. To date, I have only lost about three accounts to competitors. Two of those accounts were lost because a municipality decided to consolidate all of their locations into one contract.