Snackshop 7600 (old) - can I use VFM1 validator?

kent

Hello, let me introduce myself, I am new to vending.  I work at a community college and I inherited the task of keeping a few old vending machines working in our department.  About 20 years ago, the college had classes that teach vending machine maintenance, which it no longer offered. The machines were hold-outs from those days. We do not have funds to upgrade them. Part of my job is to maintain them, fix problems with minimum cost because the machines are not in the department budget. This is a nonprofit operation. We keep them running for the benefit of the students.

I am faced with the following: One of the machines I am having trouble with the bill validator which is the subject of this post. The details:

AP Snackshop 7600 food vender/Ardac 1X224-0501/MBA Universal Input Output Controller/Mars coin changer works ok (it looks like a Coinco 9300). Only accepts $1 and coins - No credit card is ok with us.

The Ardac in the 7600 worked poorly, rejecting many bills last year. This month it quit working, giving an error 6 – Magnetic head malfunction. I don’t think it is worthwhile to try to fix the Ardac. In my search for a solution I found we have a Mars VFM1-L1-U2CS BA and a Coinco 9300. They were spare parts for a soda machine that is even older than the 7600. I tested the VFM1 and it works. Here is my question:

Is the VFM1 compatible to the 7600 machine? If yes, what do I need to make it work? Do I still use the MBA controller? The 7600 takes a short pulse and the VFM1 is a short pulse BA.

I am new to this vending technology, but I have experience with refrigeration systems. So I hope I can contribute in that area to the forum. Thanks for any help you can offer.  

-Kent

post-10727-0-75387900-1441509175_thumb.jpg

post-10727-0-30891500-1441509320_thumb.jpg