P.O. box and other recurring expenses (Quest for knowledge)

lurtsman

Can a P.O. box be used as the mailing address for an LLC? Does it vary by state? I'm living in an apartment and don't know that they would allow this address to be used as the location for an LLC. (There may be a provision about home based businesses built into the lease) Further I am hoping to move in the next year (looking for a good job in my field, currently I'm working at the library making a little over 8 bucks an hour), but I have my BS degree in HR. Since I don't anticipate staying in this apartment past the summer, P.O. box seems like the easiest option. There's a post office near by with available boxes costing 10$ per six months.

So my cost is what else would be the necessary costs of having an established LLC. If I had no locations, I wouldn't need transportation, gas, or CoGs.

I saw a thread about phone service and the different options people use for their work number. I'll need to copy someone else's plan because I don't want B2B telemarketers calling my home phone. (I'm planning on a straight to voice mail number, I'll never pick it up)

Also, I heard at my local city hall about getting a vending permit, they said I needed to have a location first and then it was ten dollars. It wasn't clear if they wanted me to have a permit tied to each location, or just one permit. Has anyone else encountered this, ideas & advice?

Thanks. This forum has saved me from what could otherwise have been a short lived and failed experience in vending. Building upon the knowledge of the kind and successful people here is allowing me a way out of the rat race.

This varies by state. I am unsure about Iowa, but I would check with your Sec of State. In general, you *cannot*. However, Iowa might be an exception.

Regardless, a quick call to your Sec of State will give you the answer!

Kevin