New To Vending, Advice On Machine Purchase

krylon80

Hey All,

I'm new to the world of vending and I just wanted to make sure that a soda machine I was considering buying is decent and worth the asking price. It's a Dixie Narco 504P. I would only be using 12oz cans in the machine. The compressor is in good working condition. I think the coin mech and validator are also in good working condition, but they may not be based on the issues that the seller has been having with the machine (listed below). The asking price is $500, but I think there is room for negotiation if I'm armed with more info. 

Some selections give false "sold out" readings when they're not
Some slots jam every few sales
Occasionally gives wrong change or no change

I'm not sure what is causing these issues, but I plan to look into fixing them if I buy the machine. Even tough I'm new to the world of vending, I'm pretty handy. I've attached photos of the machine as well.

Thanks for any input you can provide!

01.jpg

02.jpg

03.jpg

08.jpg

09.jpg

05.jpg

04.jpg

06.jpg

Nope.

The P series were notorious for various issues and gremlins, including the ones you are describing.

Run away, you will spend way too much time fixing this.

If you just want cans get an old single price machine.

Or if you want a newer machine find a 501E. The E series Dixie Narcos predated the P series, but are rock solid reliable workhorses.

was using royals, never liked dixie, Seaga was horrible, Gaines are workhorses, and then I found vendos! love them! easy to set up, easy to run, parts available and cheap, I get them for about $250 to $350 tops used, with plenty of life in them, with very minor repair.