Question about locations wanting a cut of sales

Hey Everyone, new guy here looking into getting started.  I am not looking to get rich, looking for (very) part time with about 10 locations I think I could do well with.  I intend to use the plain white candy boxes but going to give portion to local animal rescue and all my locations I have in mind are related to the animal.  My question is, do locations usually want a cut of the sales?  Thanks!

1 hour ago, Kerry67 said:

Hey Everyone, new guy here looking into getting started.  I am not looking to get rich, looking for (very) part time with about 10 locations I think I could do well with.  I intend to use the plain white candy boxes but going to give portion to local animal rescue and all my locations I have in mind are related to the animal.  My question is, do locations usually want a cut of the sales?  Thanks!

Welcome to the forum and to the Honor Snack business!  As a 25 year veteran, I can tell that the majority of customers (like 99.9%)will NOT ask for a "cut" or commission.  The small portion that might, typically be small volume accounts (at least that is my experience).  If I may suggest, DO NOT OFFER COMMISSIONS!  You will have shortages to deal with and small volume accounts at times and commissions will KILL your profit margin.  Honor snacks are not a business to be handing out commissions.  Large vending companies may do it for HIGH VOLUME vending accounts, but our business does not warrant commissions.  Best of luck to you!!!  :)

• Like 1

I agree on no commissions for snack or charity boxes... profit margin is too thin. It is a numbers game. 

If they want a cut, simply move along. Never be tempted to cave on this, because it makes for annoying extra accounting and could be detrimental to your business if some but not others got locating gift, commission, etc. You never want to create double standards.