CarlinT

Need help valuing Vending Route

Hi I’m new to vending (these would be my first 3 machines) and I’m considering buying a route. It’s composed of 3 machines in 3 locations 10min or less from eachother. All 3 are Seaga HY2100 equipped with cards readers, Apple Pay, Google Pay, etc. Owner says before COVID avg. revenue was $600 monthly for all 3 machines. He’s valuing the business at $8,000. Is this too high? Without putting any value on the location or revenue I think the machine alone would be worth about $6,000. What are your thoughts? 

A good rule of thumb would be 10 months of the gross sales. However the Seaga’s are horrible machines. If the machines were decent like National snack and Dixie Narco or Royal sodas I would offer $6k at the very most. 
What you are looking at is 3 small locations with junk combos. 
As it stands I wouldn’t pay more than $2500. 

Run away as fast as you can. You want American machines, not Chinese imports or anything from Seaga which are made of Chinese parts.  They also have high prices on any parts they stock, give poor tech support and will never disclose any wiring diagram for any machine they have ever sold.

200 a month locations are nothing special.

Really, I would not value this route much at all. Those machines are not great, and tech support and parts are hard to find.

Plus, locations are not guaranteed and are much less stable due to COVID fears. You could get kicked at any time. If you are starting out I would pay maybe 2k for this route. The CC readers are worth 800 bucks. Machines you could dump on eBay for another grand.