new to vending- how to price items

OVend

Hi everyone, I am new to the vending world. Can you please tell me what prices I should have for soda cans, bottles, candy bars, chips, crackers, etc? If possible, it would be helpful to include location as well for reference. I am in southern NH. I bought a route but the prices are so low that I am barely profiting. Help is appreciated.

thanks 

orsd is pretty on target.  I know some operators are still at 1.00 for candy and .60 for small chips, I have no idea how they stay in business.  Check prices at local c-stores for a comparison point, and remember the shelf price at those stores will not include sales tax, which your price will need to include.  I try to be near the average c-store price, maybe a few cents lower.  Expect some push back from customers with any price increase, a few will complain directly and sales will be slightly off for a few weeks, but if your prices are reasonable in comparison to other sources you will be fine.  Better to sell 5 items at a profit than 10 at a loss.... operators stay cheap especially when selling the route because they fear losing locations.  If you provide good service and reasonable prices, anyone you lose will not be an account you want anyway.

Also think about your changers when pricing, if you drinks are .75 or 1.00 for example, you change banks will usually be OK.  If you go to .85 then change from 1.00 will take a nickle and dime each time, and you will find your changers running out of small coins (been there done that).  Go to .90 if you don't want to do 1.00.  Quarter increments work best, .15 over the quarter is OK; 10 or 20 over the quarter should be avoided. 

• Like 1

On 9/18/2020 at 9:36 PM, Southeast Treats said: