Claw machine axis issue

johnnyv015

Hello, 

I have a claw machine that when powered it will get 'stuck' when returning to home. The claw will move to the back wall (where the prize shoot and home is but the motor will continue to hum as if it is trying to go further. 

The machine will then announce "x axis error" on loop for all eternity. 

Occasionally the claw will home on power up and you can get 1 or 2 plays out of it before the mentioned above happens upon returning to the prize shoot. 

I am no expert at all in these things but am assuming there is an issue with a stop trigger for the x axis. 

Can anyone point me in the right direction for diagnosis and repair? 

Depending on make/model, this sounds like an issue with the home switch on the gantry. You should see a switch that the claw gantry hits on the rail when it gets to the home position. Start there and see if any broken wires, etc.. If not, replace the switch as they can fail.

Let us know and take pics of stuff if you don't know what I am talking about.

OK. It appears all triggers are working as intended. I have located the issue as "when gantry is moving left toward the prize shoot it slows and stops as if it is hung up on something." the motor continues to whine and it stops moving. If I push the gantry to the left the trigger clicks and the machine operates as expected. 

The gantry needs assistance reaching this location of the machine with every play and start up. As this is home also. 

I have checked all the rods in the machine and pulleys for warping or defects and everything seems in line. 

Machine is "the beanbag zone" all motors dated July 2004 in the gantry, no idea if this is of an help. 

11 hours ago, johnnyv015 said: