Ambitious Vending Newbie w/ ?'s

Supapac

I am brand new to the vending world with plans on growing a lucrative vending business. I am located in Brooklyn, New York and have a very close friend that just signed the lease to his first tattoo shop. I want to present the idea of placing a vending machine at his brick and mortar location. He is very successful and has clientele booked until May 2021. He plans on bringing more artists at his shop as well. 

I would want to place a hybrid drink and snack machine at his business to start off - 1 machine purchased refurbished of course. I make decent money with my full time (80k/yr) but would be buying and funding the start up costs with my CC. I plan on stocking the machine myself but would most likely outsource any repairs I wouldn't feel comfortable doing myself. 

1. Im sure he wouldn't have a problem allowing me to place my machine there but how do I suggest we structure the agreement? Would 10-20% of Monthly profits be suffice?  

2. Which brand of machines should I look for refurbished? What would be an ideal price point for said machine?

3. ANY advice for a newbie? - Something you would have told yourself when you starting out? 

4. Now, when it comes time to scale. Should I consider these route/location services I see around while I've been doing research thus far?

Thank you 

Edited by Supapac

1) Stay away from imported machines like Seaga - far far away.

2) Combos don't make a lot of money in general.  For a tattoo shop I would probably suggest a drink machine (Dixie Narco, Royal, or a newer Vendo) stocked with cans.  Cans have a long shelf life (other than diet drinks)  and you can get a good margin.

3) Snacks usually require that you have multiple machines so that you can maintain a good selection without excessive stales.  Having to throw away product you have paid for cuts deep into the profits.