Vendors giving 50/50 split on claw and bulk vend

So I have been working in the amusement street business for over 20 years and on average vendors take 20-35% off the top for product. 
I have come across 2 companies lately that have been established saying they don’t take anything off the top a straight 50/50 split.

One of these companies has moved into my location and although I still have a claw there they put one right next to mine, yes it is upsetting, the way they were able to do this was from this 50/50 split.

Now a few things can be happening.

1 they take the percentage off the top but don’t report it.

2. They don’t let customers win( however they are doing this with bulk vending as well)

3  They are not making a profit.

another company is running the chicken egg machine at .50 cents a play. Best egg price is .15 cents an egg.

Now .50 cents /2 =.25 cent -.15 cent cost  would any vendor make a .10cent profit? 
has anyone else seen this type of split? 
Even saw the company proclaim 50/50 on an internet jukebox. I said 20% comes directly off the top standard for licensing.  
My experience is they are not reporting it on the ticket. Which gives us all a bad name. 

if he's 2.5 hours away that's roughly 150 miles? what 10ish gallons at almost 4/gallon. so $40 to go there once to collect. $40 for a trouble call... at 50/50 split with no product COG, I highly doubt they can make enough to justify the full day of work to collect/service/restock stuff... if they have one trouble call they're now paying to put games on the floor. How many games can you operate at a loss before you die?