% to location?

I am new to vending and I am starting out with a couple soda machines as well as a couple bulk machines.  I have been doing my own located for my fulline and I have a mobile phone business owner that would like a soda machine in his store. He is looking for commissions and asked me how much I would pay him.  What would be a reasonable amount to tell him?  He said he has about 1200 customers come through a week.  Should I make an agreement to start low for the first couple months then raise it if the location is good?  Or just stick with a set amount and see if he takes it

What I do is start all places at 10% and make sure they know that I will always make it right if things change, and that I am not going to rob them of what they deserve. now sometimes you will be able to get a smart business owner that can appreciate the work we do. in that case I offer them a 2 year contract with a high commission rate (15%) with a non compete clause, and a provision where they need to notify you 6 months in advance for removal of machine. this will be worth a ton more if you ever decide to sell the route and its a nice piece of mind. a lot harder to make happen but good business minded people will be open to the idea. if there is a non compete clause you should also be able to throw a bulk machine in there and make some good money from it.

At our busier locations that insist on a commission (and all the schools), we give them 10% of the revenue on snacks and 15% on drinks.  This works out good for us.  At smaller locations  we tell them that we just cannot afford to pay them a commission.  We do tell them that if they surprise us and do a high volume that we'll pay them the standard 10% or 15%.