Rescued one of my failed Nayax Amit's Tonight - Since Nayax is No help...

tblake05

Start off, I am no expert by any means.  I am educated in electronics to the point of a year in high school and anything I've learned beyond that is self taught.  Please don't hate on me for my terrible soldering skills.  I am great at soldering old school through hole components.  Surface mount, not so much.

Anyway, I had an amit that stopped working.  Blank screen.  Like all of them, it was just out of warranty, and nayax no longer offers the refurbished amits, or any amits for that matter.  this is now the 3rd unit of mine that failed the exact same way.  The first two I just replaced with refurbished units.

Putting it on the bench I found the main voltage regulator blown, shorted.  So I replaced it with a suitable digikey replacement.  New one blew also... immediately.  Taking it a step further.  Something on the circuit was shorted causing the secondary side of the voltage regulator to short.  I should have checked it first.  My inexperience.  But 5 voltage regulators was less than 5.00 shipped.

Amit's as you can guess are full of a bunch of china made components plus there isn't a single schematic I could find of them neither from Nayax, or their apparent maker, castle technologies.  Emailing to either of them was pointless.

Fast forward to a week ago.  I was offered a generous lot of old 3g amits from Phil (southeast treats)  Phil said some might work.  Either way, Nayax wouldn't transfer them to my account due to being 3g only.