Confused on ADA Requirements

Dave101

Hey guys,

I'm new to the vending machine business, and just recently acquired an older AP113 machine. Bill validation was installed from previous owner, and it doesn't have a credit card reader yet. I'm thinking of installing the Nayax.

I'll be acquiring more initial machines, but currently setting everything up for the business in MA, but just got wind of this ADA requirement. Crap...

These are the locations I'm looking to get into using some of my connections already:

- Office building

- State office building

- YMCA and church

I'm of course, looking at other locations, but the above I may have a better chance first.

The ADA caught me off guard (a little annoyed I didn't read up), and I'm wondering if I'll have trouble with my AP113 due the locations above "or" bill validation replacement. Putting in a credit card reader makes sense given the locations.

If anyone can offer suggestions that would be good. 

I was going to do the older refurbished AP 7600s as well, but I'd imagine none of them would be compliant.

If anyone has an idea on what machines I'll need for ADA at the lowest cost, please let me know?

Are you referring to the height requirement?

Last I checked, which was a long time ago, the requirements only apply to vendors with at least 10 machines.

It may be possible to mount a reader near the coin mech on either machine but it would be far more difficult to do, if even possible.  Payrange will work pretty much anywhere the customer is because it uses Bluetooth via their phone.  If someone complained that you aren't Ada compliant, maybe that would satisfy the problem.

Neither the AP 7600 or 113 will connect to card readers without changing the board.  Alternatively, you can spend about $1,000 more than the cost of a new board and replace the whole door.  Then it will be ada compliant.

4 hours ago, AngryChris said:

Are you referring to the height requirement?