Buy a Route vs Build a Route

jeffbic

Okay vending professional's ,I got a question for ya. If you were start a vending business and you had a choice to buy a medium size route or to build a route a location by location which would you choose?

There are pros and cons to each way and I would like to get the professional's opinon's.

I'm no pro but I'll weigh in here.

I started my route with a few triples I purchased off of Craigslist and I'm glad I did.  It allowed me to see what it takes to get machines route ready, find locations and put in all the "dirty work" to get the quarters.  I know now that I learned a lot of things the hard way but I started slow and grew at my own pace as to not get too discouraged or overwhelmed.  I feel that if you are just starting out you need to purchase the machines and locate, do paperwork, etc all yourself so you know what it takes. 

If you are not new to vending and have experience in improving routes, managing stock, waste, COG and the like then save yourself some trouble (hopefuly) and purchase machines already placed.

Overall the things you learn by doing it yourself give you a better understanding and respect of the business itself.

would have to agree with Gabe, there is nothing better than learning on the job training first with a few machines, this way when a route comes up for sale you have a pretty good idea what its worth, by looking at the locations and machines. Buying a route is a great way to expand but be sure your buying something thats worth you time and money.

Gary