3 Peanut M&M's per vend?

icodebot

I'm new to bulk vending. I located a RB16 Beaver machine today, and the owner requested M&M's.  I could not adjust the wheel to vend more than 3 peanut M&M's per vend. Arguably this is the right amount for this candy since it is expensive, but I feel pretty stingy, and would have set it to vend more if I could have.

I was just wondering what the norm per vend count is for peanut M&Ms?

Thanks,

Matt

Selling 3 for a quarter will lead to no one buying very quickly and a bad reputation with the owner. 5 for a quarter gives you about a 20-25% cogs. The annoyance for me is that they go bad too quickly.  You'll need a wheel you can set to a min of 5. Anything less than 5 is terrible. I generally sell about 8 for a quarter. That keeps people buying them--which is important so they don't go bad. In general I'm trying to work them out and mostly only do them for a request and only leave them in if they are selling reasonably.

you don't need to swap the head! did you take the wheel out and see if it is open the maximum amount possible? usually you can remove screws and turn the metal part so the opening is larger or smaller, try opening it the maximum amount and then run several quarters through the machine and see how many m&m's come out each time. if it is still too little, order a deep candy wheel for it. with a deep wheel you can definitely vend enough pm&m's to make the customer happy.

I just meant I'd swap out the candy canister with the proper candy/wheel combo. For me to swap out or adjust the wheel I have to empty the canister and disassemble it. This is not something I'd want to do on location. 

It's a shallow Beaver candy wheel. Beaver makes a deep one as well. As far as I can tell I have it set to the maximum setting, I tried several adjustments last night and could not get it to vend more than 3. The owner requested M&M's, I didn't have plain ones handy, and did not anticipate having such a stingy wheel.