I turned down a 800 student college today.

RJT

I turned down a 800 student college today. These numbers are only the students living on campus it does not include night students, facility, staff, or any visitors. So you are looking at around 1400 or so total people.

I wanted to share something with you folks about how accounts can fool you at times. The reason I turned down this account is because I had it one other time a few years back when I was a sales/operations manager for another company. So knowing what I know is why I turned them down.

This is the type of account that you can take a pro-forma and throw out the window. You would think this account would rock. You would think this account would be off the charts with all those kids.

Keep in mind it is snack only because of the deal with the bottling companies. When I had it before we had cold food and coffee as well. We had 8-10 snack machines around campus including in dorms and common areas. Pricing was you average prices with nothing outrageous. .60 chips, .90 candy type prices.

Here is the bad news the account only did $9500 gross revenue a year average. This is before taxes, commissions, COG’s, etc. I was shocked that this account did these types of numbers. I have stand alone snack machines that do more than this.

So, that is why I turned down a chance to do them. Again, this goes to show you have to be careful how you go about financing accounts. Lets say you were just getting started and financed 12/14 new machines for this account thinking it was a homerun. You would have financed over 50k for an account that would take you over 10 years to pay off the equipment. This could get some people in some major financial trouble fast. Always plan for the worst and have an exit strategy and options if the worst happens.

Just thought I would share with you folks a little info about how accounts can fool you.