Thinking about Soda/Snack Vending

Johnny Ringo

Hi,

I'm brand new to this world and have been thinking about getting into the industry for the past couple of weeks.

I have been thinking about purchasing an existing route and also about starting from scratch by finding locations and then placing used machines.

Everyone that contributes here is fantastic. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Johnny Ringo

Hi Johnny,

I'll be your huckleberry. lol I prefer bulk over full line as it doesn't require servicing as often. Also far less service issues with the equipment. I can solve a broken mech issue but maybe not a compressor on a coke machine. Most of the bulk vendors service from 4-8 week cycles compared to once a week more running the bigger full line machines.

I would recommend against buying an existing route until you have a bit more experience under you belt. It's pretty easy for someone wanting to sell a route to make it sound far better than what it is. They often will be less than honest with all the numbers, the locations, equipment and just about everything they tell you. Right now you don't have enough experience to know where they are lying to you.

Regardless of your choosing full line or bulk I'd recommend buying used equipment from craigslist or ebay. Make sure when you buy that you are thinking of what it would sell for if you wanted to sell it. Then if you decide this business isn't for you can sell out without losing too much. If you stay in the business I still recommend buying used as you can get alot more machines collecting money by buying used than new.

Well, long welcome here but hope to see more of you in the forum. Check out the Shop and Swap section where you'll find alot of equipment listed in both the craigslist and ebay areas.

nam

nam,

Thanks for the response. Yeah, I'm really thinking of buying used machines and starting from scratch. That would be the least expensive way to go.