Newbie in California needing advice!

malaea

Hello!

I'm new to the whole vending world and in my research efforts, I've unfortunately come to a place of  "information overload".  My concerns/questions are pretty basic, but I have gotten so many conflicting stories from companies and websites, I've decided to see what help I can get here. 

I'm a single mother of 3 and I was thinking about using vending as a way of getting some supplemental income.   I'd like to start fairly small because I don't have a lot of money to invest at first, and I'd like to test the waters before diving in full force.  I found a company online that deals with "charity vending" and I can buy 5 triple head machines for $1700, which includes a free route locator.  My understanding is that I will get the 5 machines and they provide the locations to put  my machines. They will also hook me up with the charity.  They supposedly "guarantee" these routes, which they say means that if I don't do well there, they'll provide me with another location.  They also said that because this is "charity" vending, I was saving on having to pay rents to the locations and that it helps me during tax time. 

I've read mostly that I shouldn't buy new machines, but I worry about getting a used one that is faulty.  I've read good things about the way the newer ones are built more dependably and  "user-friendly", with less worry about breakage.

Is "charity vending" really the way to go or is it not all it's cracked up to be?  

This offer from this company sounds appealing in so many ways, but I'm skeptical, any advice?  Is there a lot of "fine print" that I'm not thinking of?  I hestitate paying that large amount of money, but it sounds good to me that I would be 1) getting new machines that I could trust, 2) getting "guaranteed" locations and 3) not having to pay rents or fees to the locations where my machines are.