First Post Introduction

Profits

Vendiscuss,

First off, I have to say I'm mighty impressed with the wealth of quality information being shared in this forum, as well as the vending industry as a whole.  What a breath of fresh air.  I'm looking forward to some good participation on this forum.

Without sounding overly confident, or arrogant, my aspirations and drive revolve around my personal goal to exceed $1m per year, net.  I'm guessing I'll need around 280 machines and 5 employees to reach $1m gross.  Oh, and a few good locators :)  It might take me a few years to get there.

I'm new to vending, but not new to running a business.  I'm a full time photographer, and I own membership based websites.  These are online "vending machines" of sorts.  One thing that is very discouraging is that people are very tight-lipped about online businesses.  Perhaps it has something to do with everyone competing within the same space; online.

I'd like to begin by asking this;  Why do many operators focus on either bulk vending or snacks / sodas / coffee?  It would seem, for the benefits of diversification, that one would want to avoid being overly invested in one area or another.

Have you ever heard of a credit card processing unit called the ePort?  Accepting credit cards within the vending space, personally, makes me foam at the mouth.  I found a link suggesting it retailed for $329 but I couldn't find any other retailers selling it that would suggest if this is a good deal or not.

Regarding locating; is it best to scout locations by cold-call or in person?  And if I wanted to become an expert locator, what would be the best resource to study?  I am quite curious how companies like Blue Moose consistently find locations that have 100-150+ employees.  Is it a general consensus that newbies & smaller businesses rely on locators where established operators have locators on staff?