Buying my first machines

DayStar Vending

Hi Group,

I am new to vending (as the title of this post would imply), and I am ready to purchase my first machines. I am going to start off slow, as many here suggest. For my first two machines, I am thinking a gumball machine, and a 1" capsule toy machine. I mainly want to stick with toys and gum, in the early stages anyway. As you all know, there are many different machine manufactures out there. I want to buy new, and not used. Nothwestern and Beaver seem to be the top two, but I of course could be wrong. Any advice on a tried and true machine would be great - I am not afraid to pay for quality. Also, how do you get the quarters out of these machines when you service? It seems a bit crude/time consuming to remove the candy globe, and reach in and pick quarters out of the bottom by hand. I assume there is a better way that you will share, such as some sort of "quarter catcher" that can be easily lifted out, and the quarters put in a bag.

Many thanks in advance, I really like this forum a lot, it has been a great resource for me as I was making my mind up to start a small candy vending business. :)

if you get northwestern or A&A machines they do make a plastic tray for the bottom of the one inch machines. its up to you if you want to do new machines or used ones if you go used you can get them a a good price u just have to watch that the used machines dont look like crap. gum and toys is a great way to start also think about if you find a really good spot think of a rack small 4 or 5 rack you will see the difference in a rack to a double or a single. but no matter what you do welcome to the world of vending and good luck

Hi Kelly,

Thanks so much for the warm welcome, and your great advice. I am going to look at the Beaver machines now, and brand vending! I can't wait to get this little side business of the ground - with folks like you around, I feel very confident going forward! :)

---