"freshness date" on machines

sweetvends

Hi all:

I've been an avid reader of this forum for a while now and finally got to the bottom of the posts. (I like to try and read everything first before making a post)

well first let me say that I am kind of a new vendor, I have been operating bulk machines since december of 2006. I currently have 16 machines out at locations.

I have only single and double machines. After reading some of the posts here im glad that i did not go with triples.

I was wondering if anyone has tried using "freshness date" stickers on their machines? Before i got into vending, i would have never purchased, let alone eat, anything from a bulk vending machine simply because i had no idea how long it was sitting there. Now that i am in the biz i was thinking of a way to combat that problem to try to increase sales from those who would ordinarly not purchase.

my idea is to have a small card or something that I can write when the product was placed in the machine. kind of like the fresh date on milk or chips.

do you think that would have any effect on sales or just a waste of time. i know i probably wouldve purchased from a bulk machine if i knew how old the product was.

just a thought, all responses welcome

sweetvends

I am not sure that kids care much about that stuff but it may sway some adults. Maybe a sticker that shows a serviced on date might help. This may be more of a problem than a benefit if you are running gumballs on a two month cycle though. Just my thoughts.

i see your point. i was an adult when i thought about that (still am as a matter of fact) so i can see where it may be in vain if im marketing to kids.

thanks for your input.