Pulling Machines ?

DJI

Hi

Although I am very new to this business, I can already see some of the locations are going to be poor producers, i.e.: not high enough traffic, poor hours, etc.  I can see that certain locations will never produce enough to make it profitable.

So my question is: How  do you "Tactfully" tell the business owner that you are removing your machine?

Thanks for any insight into this

Dave

Any business owner should be able to understand why you would pull a machine not making any money. First I would speak with the owner and employees and see if a different product would sell better. Next before you pull any machine make sure you have a new location ready to move it to. I would rather make $5 than $0 in my basement collecting dust.

Hand write ( or type one and sign it) a proffesional thank you letter to hand to the person who let you place the machine.  The location may become proffitable in the future, and you may want to place another machine, so don't burn any bridges. 

You don't say if you have singles, doubles or triples. I would try to change to another product or so. Give it one or two months to see if the change works. If all else fails then you thank them for letting you try and relocate it.

I have had a triple that has done ok with two selections for the location it is in for the last six months. It is the third slot that had been driving me crazy. No matter what I tried I would only get a couple of vends a month through it. I went in there a few weeks ago to service and was ready to switch out the Skittles for one last item. Don't you know someone fell in love with them since last service. I went from .50 for the last month to $7 this one. Nedless to say Skittles is going to stay for now.

Its a psychological thing, kinda like reverse rejection. You care about it much more than them, trust me they will forget about you 30 seconds after you walk out the door.