Just starting out - some questions

jman7777

Hello all, I just happened on this forum the other day and I can't read enough.

A little about me - I'm an undergrad business student from MA looking to get my start into the business world for myself. I've been working the food/retail for over 6 years, so I have some experience selling food and dealing with customer service issues. I know this isn't a get rich quick type of business, and I'm not looking for that. I'm looking for honest experience to see if it's for me.

I am interested in placing 1-2 head bulk candy machines. I would like to try scouting the locations for myself before I try a locator. I figure, I'm just as good and personable as anyone else, I may as well give it a shot. If I fail, I can always request their services later.

I would like to send out a post card explaining myself to businesses in the area. I've decieded to support a popular local charity, and would make that the "selling point" so to speak. I would send my postcard to local car dealerships, pizza shops, post offices, restaurants and such. My question is: What should I put on this postcard? How do I grab their attention? Business owners must get a ton of junk mail daily that they just throw away, so I would need to be careful with my wording so they don't think it's just another piece of trash. What are some good ideas? Keep in mind a post card has limited space.  I would need to have some sort of logo and of course contact information as well. Would be interested in your opinions if my post card idea would work or not.

Thanks again!

Jarrod

Jarrod,

First, welcome :)

I would strongly recommend you do not use a postcard. The reason is as you stated above - no one will read this. Also, it lacks a personal touch, which is what you want to convey when self-locating. In fact, you say in your post that you are personable - and that will be lost in the postcard :(

If you are going to locate yourself, I would do the following: