I have an idea

guile

Since I'm just starting out, I am excited but at the same time, realistic. With that being said, I came up with something that may or may not help when locating. I am (still) working on a website and feel it is a vital thing to have in this business. Since I plan on doing most/all of my own locating, I thought it might be a good idea to add each location's name and address to my website.

Why? I would let them know that in addition to helping the charity, their business would be recognized on my website for that help. Free plugs for their biz.

g,

I had done this during my first year in business when I ran charity machines. I thought it was a great idea until other operators (commission) in my area looked at my site and basically took all my locations from me by offering the location a commission. I was lucky just to be able to share the location, but in most cases I got the boot.

I was literally telling all of my competition where I had my machines and worse yet, that I didn't pay commission to any of them (charity). They picked over me like turkey vultures on a fresh roadkill carcass.

I understand that they could've done the same thing by just seeing my machine there but having a complete list of locations available to them online seemed to be the catalyst that prompted their attack.

Good luck with what you decide. Let us know how it works for you.

Steve

PS. If you are interested, my old site is still up. I just don't use it anymore but it still lists some of the locations I had. You can see it at http://www.50spot.com. The locations are listed under the "Service Area" link. I don't mind showing it to everyone here because I don't have those locations anymore.

When I look at that old site now I cringe. It's like looking at and old high school picture! :P