Toy Taxi 31' double pull rebuild.......

Calisurf

Thanks for the add to the forum. A ton of knowledge here. First time posting here. I'm learning a lot, but a total newbie at this.

I picked up a Toy Taxi crane, "31" which was in-op. I wanted to tinker with it to see if I could make it work.

It seems like it is one of the older models, pre-coast-to-coast and is a double crane. The right side has a second chance for "candy".

The only thing that powers up are the LED lights, there is no powerup of the claw, but there is one LED lit on the PCB. The powersupply has a light, but no fan, so I think that is an issue.

I replaced the PowerSupply and still get the same results, but with the new power supply, the FAN is on. So now thinking the PCB may not be working. Fuses are all good as far as i can tell.

With that said, the PCB is probably too costly to replace, plus I don't even think I can find one if I wanted to go that route.

Right now, my plan is to just gut the machine and but a claw kit either from Holland Computers, or Alibaba.

I have pretty mixed feelings on where to purchase from. Holland seems to just re-sell the Chinese kits from the information I gather, but there may be some English Instructions, although I have read they are pretty bare minimum.

The Chinese kits are cheaper, but the shipping is really high so at the end of the day, may run just a little cheaper. But with the cost savings, maybe more headaches with instructions.

So a few questions.

1) am i right to just scratch trying to repair the original stuff. Chances are very high that there are multiple things wrong with this thing. 

2) any experience or ideas on the different claw kits? Holland Versus AliExpress? Recommendations?