Buying a Route

anti-cubiclite

Hi Everybody. I'm a newbie. I've been lurking around here for a week. I came across an opportunity to buy an existing route of 21 machines. I want to get some opinions from seasoned veterans as to what to look out for when purchasing an existing route.

Here is a rundown of the deal:

21 U-Turn 8s

One key for all machines

All bags, money holders, candy, and labels are included

Annual gross income $4,500 - $5,500

Net income $3,000 -$4,000

Asking price: $3,800 or best offer

Just doing a simple 3,800 divided by 21 is $180 per machine including candy so it sounds pretty good. Obviously, the main thing is to verify the numbers that the seller is stating are true.

Can anyone provide a checklist of items you need to check out before purchasing a route? Also, Are U-Turns good machines?

Thanks.

Gary

Gary,

If his gross off 21 U Turn 8 select machines is only 5 grand then he has a lot of bad locations that need to be moved.  If he has that many 8 select U Turns filled with candy then he probably has alot of machines full of stale candy that needs to be thrown out.  You can't have 8 selections of candy in a machine only bringing in $20 a month.  I wouldn't pay anywhere near what he is asking.  Maybe a $2,000 tops and the machines had better be nice to pay that.  If his cannisters are scratched and discolored plus locations that aren't making any money just isn't worth much.