Old Dog Learns New Facts

Poplady1

I have been in this business for a long time.  Once I retired and started Blue Moose Vending Management it seemed very familiar to me since I had been doing it for many years for my own company.  But....here is what I have learned over the past 3 years, it is not easy just making calls to find locations.  If that is the only resource I have in an area it is very unproductive and lots of work.

I have tried to help a few vendors in areas outside Southern California and it has been time consuming and very hard unless the companies are in a major city such as Atlanta or Pittsburgh.  In smaller areas the companies have a local vending service and it is hard to get them to change companies even if they are receiving poor service or have older machines.  Smaller areas just have a certain degree of loyalty to their vendor that is not present in larger cities.

My point in mentioning this to you is hopefully helping you develop your market.  In Southern California Blue Moose Vending Management has a solid marketing presence.  We can be found on mailers, in newspapers, Merchant Circle, radio ads, Google/Yahoo search engines, coupons, Vending Connection, Coin-Op Trader, advertising on local nonprofit sites such as SPCA, sponsoring nonprofit events to be listed in their event programs, donating money to youth sports teams, telemarketing 5 hours each day (Bill and I) at a monthly cost of almost $1800.  

But the number one thing that we did this past year was asking Steve to develop a new website for our marketing.  www.bluemoosevendmgt.com  I did a new business report covering the last 3 months to find that 60% of the new business has come to us through the website contact page. Now I don’t really have the data to tell you how they are finding the website but it is working for us.  Maybe it’s a mixture of all of the above resulting in customers just checking the site after seeing a newspaper ad or coupon.